Quick & Quirky Questions with Lesley P Lyon

I was born on Caldey Island, South Wales, in 1941. My family moved to Aberdeen in 1945, where I grew up.

I emigrated to Canada when I was 45, and worked as a Nanny/Housekeeper. I started in Ontario, then moved to Vancouver, British Columbia which was a wonderful experience. I lived there for 15 years.

My home now is Glasgow, near my daughter, which has everything I could possibly need in the way of culture, stimulation and friendships.

I still want to travel, and plan to get going when this pandemic is more under control.


Tell us 4 important facts about yourself:

  1. I’ve never had a career, but I’ve had over 100 jobs. 
  2. I’ve moved house 39 times. 
  3. I’m the fourth of six siblings, and there are only three of us left now. 
  4. I write, play the ukulele, sing in a choir, and read the news on the Radio Station for the Blind. 

What is your favourite age that you’ve been so far and why?

The age of 21 when I had a teak coffee table and a baby daughter. She and I had many adventures in my minivan painted with flowers, bees and butterflies (it was the 60s!).

Who is your favourite fictional character or famous person over 60?

I have great admiration for Sir David Attenborough. What he has been promoting all the years – conservation, animal welfare/global warming knowledge – are now becoming more serious than ever.

You are alone in the house (no pets). You have three minutes to get out before the house collapses and burns to the ground. What one possession would you grab and take with you?

It would be a glazed pottery owl my daughter made in school. It’s quite basic and naive but it has travelled with me for all the years. When I came back to live in the UK the owl was with me. I was telling a friend about it. My daughter and her husband were there. When I went to show it off, my daughter said ‘… oh that’s not mine! Mine broke in the kiln and I took someone else’s.’ When I looked on the bottom it wasn’t her name engraved, and I had never known that.

What is your favourite creative pastime

I learnt to knit when I was 4 or 5. I’ve done all types of projects including coats and skirts, now I knit bonnets for prem babies. I can usually do 3 in an evening, and probably made over 1000 since I moved to Glasgow.

Tell us something about yourself that’s surprising or unexpected.

18 months before my 80th birthday I decided to let my hair grow – just to see if I could. It’s now way past my shoulders, and I’ll keep going as long as I’m able. 

Send us your flash submissions on our December theme:
a bit of coorie and hygge!

Are you an avid Christmas crafter? Do you run any creative festive workshops for people in your area? Do you have any special winter routines or hobbies that help you to stay cosy and navigate the chilliest months in a state of contentment? Were there any festive or winter traditions you had growing up with your family or friends? If so, we’d love you to tell us about it in a flash submission. It could be a memoir, a short story, an anecdote or a poem.

Ends on December 31st and the author of our favourite entry will win a book prize and have their submission published on the website. Entries are free.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.